Squirm

A wall goes up

When you mention that word

A word I hard

But like I’ve never heard

It’s a word

That takes flight like a bird

Flutters in my stomach

Makes me squirm like a gas attack

Why do we have to talk about race?

Always throwing racism up in my face

It always seem in bad taste

To highlight someone by their race

Or worse yet by their colour base

I squirm at the distaste

 

It’s not that I can’t talk of race

Certainly not the case

But each time we talk about race

It involves some action of disgrace

It’s always us against them

Let’s try to solve this problem

Instead of looking for way to condemn

Let’s find solutions stop the mayhem

Because it makes me squirm to condemn

 

About Writing for Fun

Writer, mother, counsellor, teacher, mediator, connector. Loves to write for fun. As thoughts come I record Follow @GOEYMAGE !function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+'://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js';fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document, 'script', 'twitter-wjs');
This entry was posted in cultural, Poetry, race&culture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

