My imperfect dad

He’s not the perfect dad

He’s sometimes happy sometimes sad

He snores at the drop of a hat

He’s startled easily by a sudden pat

But when I cry he takes the time

To sit beside me until I feel fine

 

My dad was not the perfect spouse

He was hardly ever in the house

He’d rather go play dominoes or cards

In one of his buddies’ yards

Than sit with mother and talk of life

Things to do to heighten its spice.

My father liked El Dorado rum a lot

He’d often put mother in a tight spot

With creditors banging at our door

Threatening to cut off credit at their store

My dad would then be filled with remorse

For not putting his family’s interest first.

My dad’s drunken state was fun for me

It’s the only time I could steal the key

To his treasured chest where he stored his cash

And add it to my precious little stash

To give to mother when she’s in a pinch

Than have her face our lovable Grinch.

 

My dad was a creative genius

He solved problems without a fuss

He was kind and loving in his own ways

He never spanked me even on my bad days

Once when I broke my hand in two places

My dad simply rigged up the perfect braces

Even though he gone to rest

I still love him the very best

I think God make him just for me

He was my music perfect in any key

We’ve got to make do with what we’ve got

Cook the curry in our own stew pot.

 

Father’s day gives me time to pause

And contemplate nature’s laws

We’re put on this earth to strengthen our spirit

And I’m happy to say my daddy did it

He became better with age

My dad was a wonderful sage

BAW (c) 2011

 

 

About Writing for Fun

Writer, mother, counsellor, teacher, mediator, connector. Loves to write for fun. As thoughts come I record Follow @GOEYMAGE !function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+'://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js';fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document, 'script', 'twitter-wjs');
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

