Wise women

Women are wise

They know a lot of things

it’s frightening

only to the ignorant

Strong hands

gag their mouths

to squeeze their brains

dead weight is upon

their backs

Women are silent now

the earth is with fever

it needs the medicine

woman

in this hour of need.

 

Women in my life

The matriarch

my mother

who gave me life

who took care of

my needs

from the first spark of life

I love her

Next on the totem pole

is the woman

whose hand

I first touched in this life

as I paddled

through the canal

to greet the new world

like a mother

towards her child

I grew up with her

mothering too.

Today, most of these women

have disappeared behind modernity

doctors are the experts not midwives

but I thank my woman for being there

for my journey.

About Writing for Fun

Writer, mother, counsellor, teacher, mediator, connector. Loves to write for fun. As thoughts come I record Follow @GOEYMAGE !function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+'://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js';fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document, 'script', 'twitter-wjs');
This entry was posted in Mother's love, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

