Fear of the Dark

In Blind darkness of the sound

Foreign in tempo and rhythm

Assaulting my ear everywhere

By the people I meet

In the street

Who all seem taller than ten feet

While I shrink like a genie

Barely measure to their knee

Pandering in a childlike maze not knowing what

These adults are shouting about

Loud as they could in trying  to make me understand

In trying to make me obey their English command

 

So peculiar it is I find

That most English speakers are inclined

To believe that this English tongue of theirs

Is universal to all the earth’s heirs

They look in surprise that I do not know

This God give English Language, so

They conclude I must be dumb

For why else would I be mum

 

These thoughts whirl around in my mind

Filled with misery as I lay in my bed

These thoughts soon became my thoughts instead

My actions belied the brains in my head

I became humbling, blighting, it was scary

The reflection in the mirror

which exposed my inner horror

Of losing myself, my honour.

 

Fuelled by the twin candles fright and frustration

I was determined to get an English education

To do whatever linguistic gymnastic it took

To search each literary cranny and nook

How my tongue to twist and twirl

To say such difficult words as field and pearl

To learn English and brighten my worl’.

About Writing for Fun

Writer, mother, counsellor, teacher, mediator, connector. Loves to write for fun. As thoughts come I record Follow @GOEYMAGE !function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+'://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js';fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document, 'script', 'twitter-wjs');
This entry was posted in Foreign-tongue, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

