Hard to leave

I had a friend once

She was no dunce

But she couldn’t see

For the life of me

She was hurting

By her boyfriends flirting

Pushes,  slaps, and put
downs

She’d look away smile like clowns

 

Too much was invested in the relationship

She felt she couldn’t afford to jump ship

Downsize her lifestyle

You can hear her bawls on a good night from a mile

 

I’m trying to under stand what this is about

Where is your pride I wanted to shout

Walk a mile in my shoe if you can

Then tell me how can I ever leave this man?

Copyright (BAW) 2011

About Writing for Fun

Writer, mother, counsellor, teacher, mediator, connector. Loves to write for fun. As thoughts come I record Follow @GOEYMAGE !function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+'://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js';fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document, 'script', 'twitter-wjs');
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

